Quilt With Us

I am a "hand quilter only" and would like to meet others who feel the way I do about this seemingly lost art. I've been quilting for nearly 30 years, and while I love what machine quilting can accomplish, I just am passionate about hand quilting. Call me crazy. I live in rural upstate NY.

Views: 606

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Joyce, I also like to hand quilt, and no your not crazy. I love the look and accomplishment of hand quilting, BUT my fingers are saying something differernt. I have a hard time holding the needle for a long time...Now I do machine piece, now a days Nice meeting you,
Yes, now at age 65 my fingers are also teaching me about pain. However, since I'm really committed to quilting by hand, I pace myself differently than I used to. Years ago I could quilt every day. Now I limit myself to two or three days a week with breaks in between. Of course those other days of the week I'm putting together yet another top to be quilted later. I think I shall not live long enough to finish everything I have begun. All is not lost however. I have a daughter who is a superb hand quilter and a granddaughter who, at age 12 has already been bitten by the bug. So I think I can feel confident about leaving my stash in good hands. Thanks for replying. Joyce
I hope I can join this group. I hand quilt and from now on hope to only hand quilt. I have sent things out to be quilted and have been so disappointed in the matress pad feeling. Now I look at a pattern with hand quilting in mind. I would like to know what brand of quilting thread everyone uses. I have used DMC in the past but it's hard to get. Teri